DISQUS

AllFacebook: A Paypal Payment Scam Arrives

  • allen stern · 1 year ago
    thanks - i've added a link to this post for my readers - the whois data on the url shows paypal.com for the dns if that matters.
  • James Smith · 1 year ago
    Guys - this is the real app. PayPal has had this app for like six months. The facebook platform crashed last night. It's not a scam. Be careful when making conclusions like this.
  • theharmonyguy · 1 year ago
    The app is legit - there's also a link to it from PayPal's sponsored group on Facebook:

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=7251737722
  • Matt Huggins · 1 year ago
    What a coincidence, we just ripped this apart on the Facebook developer forums this morning!

    http://forum.developers.facebook.com/viewtopic....
  • Dominick · 1 year ago
    Don't be so quick to shout about it being fake. While the pages look very, very suspect, I got an email from PayPal announcing this application, which would have been very hard to fake. It had my full name (admittedly not hard to find) and a link to http://email1.paypal.co.uk/u.d?FmZyqfnpcUb3zsLl... , which redirects to https://www.paypal-marketing.co.uk/facebook/ . If somebody has hacked PayPal's redirect system, then Facebook apps are the least of our worries.

    Also, a WHOIS on www.paypal.com and www.paypal-marketing.co.uk come up more or less the same.

    If it is a scam, someone has gone to some monumental effort. I'm more inclined to think that someone at PayPal just screwed up and set off all the wrong alarms on our ends, though.
  • Simeon · 1 year ago
    Wow, how can you condemn a legit app like that? This app has been around for months. Shouldn't you confirm with PayPal first? It is borderline unethical. You may want to take this off before PayPal comes after you for damages.
  • WEND · 1 year ago
    it is not legit. WHEN I TYPE THE WEBSITE IN MY BROUSER. IT COMES UP. WARNING THIS SITE MAY SCAM YOU. and it tells me to not continue to the site. and the continue to the site bit says 'NOT RECOMENDED' dont do it, click on the verify thing. it says paypal singapore. paypal is set up in america. paypal-marketing is not legit.
  • WEND · 1 year ago
    this is a scam. my brouser wont even let me on it
    it comes up warning this site may try to scam you
    and tells me not continue to go to it.
    paypal is not based in singapore
    check the paypal.com security encryption thing. it says pAYPAL US thats real. tahts where paypal is based. paypalmarketing says 'PAYPAL LMT SINGAPORE'
    paypal is not based in singapore do not even test it. its not legit